KARACHI: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Pakistan on Saturday expelled 11 members after one of them was taken into custody in a raid earlier in the day.

According to a statement issued by the Farooq Sattar led MQM, the Rabita Committee revoked membership of 11 affiliates for violating party discipline and expelled them from the party. The party also terminated four members of the Tanzeemi committee and seven of Hyderabad district committee.

“Those expelled include Zafar Rajpoot, Rasheed Bhayya, Fauzia Amir and Rizwana Aslam of the SPC,” the statement read. The expelled members from Hyderabad include Abid Ghouri, Javed Khan, Zulfiqar Khanzada, Faheem Mughal, Farooq Khan, Fahim Raheel and Saeed Aziz.

Zafar Rajpoot, one of the members expelled by the Farooq Sattar faction, was taken into custody from Hyderabad along with another man.

Rajpoot is said to have been nominated as member of the Hyderabad zonal committee by the London chapter of the party.

Meanwhile, Intikhab Alam and his brother Raheel, both the members of the London MQM, were also taken into custody.