SHARJAH – Lahore Qalandars beat defending champion Islamabad United by one wicket in the 14th match of the ongoing Pakistan Super League at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Monday.

In replying to United’s 146 runs, Lahore suffered early and lost 5 wickets merely 69 runs on the board.

Cameron Delport (12), Brendon McCullum (11), Fakhar Zaman (6), Mohammad Rizwan (3) and Mohammad Irfan (o) returned to the pavilion.

Umar Akmal bravely kept the scorecard moving in Lahore’s favour from the other end and added 41 runs in 30 balls with Grant Elliot for the sixth wicket partnership before falling prey to googly by young Shadab Khan.

Akmal brought up his fifty in the 14th over as Qalandars required 51 of 36 balls for victory. Muhammad Irfan, Ruman Raees, Shadab Khan and Watson have picked up one wicket each.

Sent into bat first, United lost wickets at regular intervals which stifled the team’s progress. Rafatullah Mohmand, Brad Haddin, Ben Duckett, Misbahul Haq and Shane Watson could not even cross the 20-run mark.

For Qalandars, Amir Yamin picked up three wickets while Yasir Shah got two. Sunil Narine and Sohail Tanvir also chipped in with one wicket.

The match started at 09:00 PM Pakistan time, which corresponds to 08:00 PM Indian time, 05:00 GMT and 08:00 PM according to UAE time on Monday.

Where to watch: All matches will air on PTV Sports, Ten Sports and Geo Super. Similarly, cricket enthusiasts of the world can catch live action on MENA – OSN, Africa – Startimes, Bangladesh – Gazi TV, UK – A plus, channel 44, Prime TV, Geo TV, Caribbean – Flow TV, USA – A Plus, Afghanistan – Moby.

Lahore Qalandars: Brendon McCullum (captain), Azhar Ali, Aamer Yamin, Sohail Tanvir, Sunil Narine, Umar Akmal, Jason Roy, Yasir Shah, James Franklin, Mohammad Rizwan, Cameron Delport, Fakhar Zaman, Bilawal Bhatti, Ghulam Mudassar, Usman Qadir, Grant Elliot, Chris Green, Saif Badar, Mohammad Irfan (Jr.), Zafar Gohar.

Islamabad United: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shane Watson, Mohammad Irfan, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Dwayne Smith, Zohaib Khan, Ben Duckett, Shadab Khan, Ruman Raees, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Khalid, Asif Ali, Syed Muzammil Shah, Steven Finn.