DUBAI – Islamabad United defeated Quetta Gladiators by one run in the 17th match of Pakistan Super League at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai here on Friday.

Gladiators who were given a target of 166 runs by United failed to clinch the victory despite being closer to the reasonable target in a high-octane clash.

Although Kevin Pietersen managed to thrash Gladiators by scoring 69 runs off 43 balls and his knock hinted at Gladiators victory however his team mates failed to maintain the strike rate and failed in snatching a last ball victory.

Ahmed Shehzad with 59 runs also played responsibly making it easier for Quetta to bag victory but his colleagues failed in scoring 5 runs in last over.

Muhammad Sami bowled the last over for Islamabad and he was declared man of the match for his superb defend. He along with Irfan, Shadab and Raees took one wicket each.

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators won the toss and elected to field first against Islamabad United.

Batting first Islamabad United player Hussain Talat scored a fifty along with Shane Watson who contributed a crucial 29 off 16 deliveries taking the score to 165 for the loss of 6 wickets.

On the other hand, Quetta Gladiators bowlers also tried to restrict United as Zulfiqar Babar and Anwar Ali took two wickets each.

The match started at 09:00 PM Pakistan time, which corresponds to 08:00 PM Indian time, 05:00 GMT and 08:00 PM according to UAE time on Monday.

Where to watch: All matches will air on PTV Sports, Ten Sports and Geo Super. Similarly, cricket enthusiasts of the world can catch live action on MENA – OSN, Africa – Startimes, Bangladesh – Gazi TV, UK – A plus, channel 44, Prime TV, Geo TV, Caribbean – Flow TV, USA – A Plus, Afghanistan – Moby.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Umar Gul, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Tymal Mills, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Umar Amin.

Islamabad United: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shane Watson, Mohammad Irfan, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Dwayne Smith, Zohaib Khan, Ben Duckett, Shadab Khan, Ruman Raees, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Khalid, Asif Ali, Rafatullah Mohmand.