DUBAI – Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by two wickets in 19th match of the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) here on Saturday at the Dubai International Stadium, Dubai.

Chasing a modest 129, Zalmi struggled earlier in the innings after losing their top and middle order in quick succession. Afridi, however, took over the reins and smashed three sixers and three fours to score 45 off 23 balls and take Zalmi to safety.

Mohammad Asghar limited Quetta Gladiators to 128 earlier. Asghar struck twice in his very first over to remove both Asad Shafiq and Ahmad Shehzad, giving Peshawar Zalmi an early breakthrough after Darren Sammy won the toss and opted to field against Gladiators.

Asghar also sent back Kevin Pietersen, who was the highest scorer for Gladiators today with 41 runs, followed by Rilee Rossouw who made 38. Both Hasan Ali and Wahab Riaz took 2 wickets each.

Quetta Gladiators were the first team to secure their place in the playoffs earlier this week.

Peshawar Zalmi, regardless of the result of Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings match, are through to the playoffs with 9 points.

The match started at 09:00 PM Pakistan time, 08:30 PM Indian, 05:00 GMT and 08:00 PM according to UAE time.

Where to watch: All matches will air on PTV Sports, Ten Sports and Geo sports. Similarly, cricket enthusiasts of the world can catch live action on MENA – OSN, Africa – Startimes, Bangladesh – Gazi TV, UK – A plus, channel 44, Prime TV, Geo TV, Caribbean – Flow TV, USA – A Plus, Afghanistan – Moby.

The top four teams will qualify for the playoffs wherein the first-ranked team at the end of the league stage will take on the second-placed side in the first playoff.

The second playoff will see the third and the fourth-ranked side take on each other before the losing team from the first playoff faces the winning team from the second playoff.

The final will be played between the winner of the first playoff and the third playoff.

The first and second playoffs will be played in Sharjah while the third playoff will be hosted by Dubai. If the tournament gets its security clearance the final will be held on March 5 in Lahore.

Peshawar Zalmi: Darren Sammy (captain), Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Eoin Morgan, Wahab Riaz, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel, Kamran Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Harris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Khushdil Shah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imran Khan (jr), Junaid Khan, M. Irfan Khan.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Umar Gul, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Tymal Mills, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Umar Amin, Noor Wali.