peghamLONDON: Reacting to MQM Pakistan’s decision to appoint Farooq Sattar as Convener of the party’s Rabita Committee, London based MQM leaders have cancelled his basic membership.

MQM London leaders Mustafa Azizabadi, Qasim Ali Raza, Wasay Jalil and Mohammad Ashfaq, issued a joint statement asking all the parliamentarians to resign from their seats and removed Farooq Sattar as Parliamentary Leader of the party in National Assembly. They also canceled Sattar’s basic party membership for ‘revolting against the MQM founder’.

The statement stressed that only Nadeem Nusrat is the legitimate convener of the party.

On Saturday, MQM Pakistan Chief Farooq Sattar, who was the senior deputy convener, was appointed the Convener of the party. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Coordination Committee held in Karachi.

Amir Khan was named as senior deputy convener and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui was designated as deputy convener. Kishwar Zehra, Abdul Wasim and Faisal Sabzwari were also included as members of the Coordination Committee.

Earlier, Nadeem Nusrat, a close aide of MQM supremo Altaf Hussain had asked party leaders to correct their mistakes and rejoin the founder. However, Farooq Sattar and co paid no heed to the appeal and announced new office bearers.