PESHAWAR: Arbab Amir, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader won the NA-4 by-election by a lead of over 20,000 votes to his name, according to unofficial results until now.

The polling procedure took place at 8 in the morning under high security arrangements with police and Pakistan Army soldiers deployed at the booths.

Imran Khan, PTI Chairman, congratulated Arbab Amir on his victory by taking to Twitter. “Congratulations to PTI’s victorious Arbab Amir in NA 4 and to the PTI Peshawar team. This was a victory against combined opposition forces,” he said.

He added that his party s success is a direct vote of confidence on performance of PTI government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. “(PTI didn’t) doll out of development funds like PML-N during NA-120 by-poll,” he claimed.

PML-N nominee Nasir Khan Musazai has polled 22, 778 votes whereas Khushdil Khan of ANP is trailing at the second spot with 22, 438 votes.

PPP’s Asad Gulzar Khan stood fourth with 12, 014 votes while JI candidate Wasil Farooq has bagged 6, 337 votes.

On the other hand, Dr Shafique Ameeni, an independent candidate backed by Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP), has managed to get 8, 218 votes in the Peshawar’s constituency.