On our 73rd Independence Day, Pakistan’s government has announced civil awards for 184 Pakistanis and foreigners in recognition of their services to the country and showing excellence in their respective fields.

The awards will be handed out by President Dr Arif Alvi in a ceremony scheduled for Pakistan Day, March 23, 2021.

Actors Bushra Ansari and Talat Hussain will be receiving the Sitara-i-Imtiaz award whereas the Pride of Performance accolade will be given to actors to Humayun Saeed and Sakina Samo, singer Ali Zafar and religious scholar Maulana Tariq Jameel.

Singer Abida Parveen, painter Sadequain Naqvi and poet Ahmed Faraz have been awarded a Nishan-i-Imtiaz.

Last year’s honored entertainment figures included actors Babra Sharif, Mehwish Hayat, Reema Khan, Iftikhar Thakur, Shabbir Jan, singers Attaullah Essakhelvi, Sajjad Ali and Sardar Ali Takkar.